top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Strobing/Highlighting: How I do it


To start your glowy look, I personally find that a hydrating base helps me. I first use my moisturiser (I use the Clinique Moisture Surge & Dramatically Different Gel), let that sink in, then apply a hydrating primer. Always remember to use moisturiser on your face every single day, morning and night, as the skin on your face is very thin, meaning that it can easily be effected by every day issues such as the weather, pollution etc. I personally find my skin is drier when it is cold, so moisturiser is essential for me in the winter. I'd still recommed applying moisturiser if your skin is oily, a lovely lady at a Clinique counter told me that if your skin is oily, it is because it's dehydrated, so is making up for that by producing oil - and to combat this by hydrating the skin, makes sense if you think about it (if you're confused about what skin type you have, or what kind of moisturiser your skin would need, I would recommend speaking to a professional, or doing some research online. I found http://www.clarins.co.uk/ quite useful, however I already know my skin type). So once you have thouroughly moisturised your face (always ensure your face is clean before moisturising!!), apply a hydrating primer. My favourite one is the Laura Geller Spackle Hydrating. A hydrating primer will increase the moisture levels in your skin, and also secure the makeup in place, so no slipping and sliding. I know Smashbox have a good one, which I haven't tried but I've heard excellent things (yes, it's on my wishlist!).

After the primer, apply your foundation. Depending on your skin type, you can cater your foundation to that. For example, if you have drier skins, try a moisturising, or dewy foundation. Oilier skins, try a mattifying foundation, which will stick around longer on your skin than a dewy one would. I personally love to mix the Revlon Colourstay (formula for Normal/Dry skins, I don't like the Normal/Oily formula) and the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation. I use the shade Buff in the Colourstay and 51 in the Bourjois, for reference. I like the longevity of the Revlon, and the finish of the Bourjois which is why I mix them, plus, those mixed together creates my perfect colour match. I actually like to mix a liquid highlight in with my foundation to help boost that glow, but if that look is too much for you, or you have oilier skin, skip that part. My favourite liquid highlights for this are Sleek Barekissed Illuminator in the shade Monaco, or a recent purchase of mine Benefit Highbeam. I'd recommend the Sleek over the Benefit, simply because of cost/how much you get. 30ml in the Sleek, for £8.99 (prices change depending where you purchase, but on www.sleekmakeup.com, that's what the price is listed as), compared to the 13ml for £19.50 for the Benefit. Sleek stock 4 shades of colour also, whereas Benefit have Highbeam, Sun Beam & Girl Meets Pearl (within the liquid highlight range.)

Next is concealer. For me, I love to highlight using concealer, if you don't, then just apply conealer where you need it and move on to the next step. I use the Urban Decay Naked concealer in the shade Fair Neutral - this is my highlighting shade, for my face I use Light Warm. I simply highlight under my eyes, centre of forehead, chin, down the bridge of my nose, tip of my nose, and underneath where I would contour. The whole idea of strobing is that you don't contour, so applying the highlighing concealer under where you would normally contour helps define the cheekbone without having to use a darker colour. I have quite prominent cheekbones naturally, so for me this works, however if you want to contour, you do you boo, make up can be applied however the hell you want guys. I personally like to bake my face, which is essentially packing loads of powder on where you want to set, for me, under my eyes, on my chin, and centre of my eyebrows (I'll do a whole blog post on baking, where I do it, and why I do it another time if you want, just drop me a message and I'll work on that, tweet me @mkupwkatie101 contact my Instagram @makeupwithkatie101 or email me makeupwithkatie101@gmail.com). I then set my face with a glow boosting face powder. My personal favourite is the Java Rice Powder from Bourjois (it does have specks of glitter to look at, but I don't find this transfers on my face, I swear by it), but I've heard people rave about the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders for a glow boosting finishing powder. I've never tried them so I can't personally recommend them.

Lastly is my favourite part, highlighting with shimmery cream/liquid/powder highlights. I like to layer, and as crazy as this sounds will have anything up to 5 highlights on my face at any one time (this includes the one mixed into my foundation, not all just piled on my face in layers!). Sometimes I'll apply a cream highlight, my current favourite is Benefit Watts Up (what I love about this product is, it's perfectly fine to apply over powder, so if you have to set your face with powder, you can always apply this over the top and it won't make your powder go all funny). It's a champagne glow, which you could leave at that if you'd like, but I'm crazy and basically like to glow like a beacon when I step outside. At the end of this post, I'll link an Instagram video from my personal account where you can see how much I like to glow. I then like to use a powder highlight on top to set the cream, my 3 favourites for this are Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop, Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Moonstone and MUA Cosmetics Iridecsent Gold. Any of those, or all three (....I like to glow okay) I'll use, with a fluffier brush, which diffuses the product, so it doesn't look as intense. I highlight in the usual areas, top of cheekbones to top of arch in the 'C' motion, tip of nose, under brow, cupid's bow and chin. I then use a smaller brush to use a super intense highlight to just the very top of my cheekbones, this highlight goes no where else but there. My favourite for this is Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Pearl - a stark white highlight, I wouldn't recommend this if you're much darker than me, it might look a little crazy on you, but if you wanna rock it, you rock it like the boss ass bitch you are, own that highlight.

(Instagram post from my personal account I mentioned: https://www.instagram.com/p/-1NxCdIJja/?taken-by=katietrutwein)

(From top to bottom)

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop

Becca Pearl

Becca Moonstone

MUA Cosmetics Iridecsent Gold

Sleek Barekissed Illuminator in Monaco

I then finish up the rest of my makeup, usually using a glowy blush to complete my glowing complexion (I loooove Sleek Rose Gold blush, but my OG fave is Clinique Cheek Pop in the shade Peach Pop. Its glowy without being shimmery). The absolute last step in my makeup routine is using a spray, essentially to set my face, but also to take down the powdery-ness of my face, as using that many powder highlights can make your face look a little powdery. My personal favourites are the Urban Decay All Nighter & Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Setting Spray (Urban Decay £21 vs Makeup Revolution £5 - I personally prefer the Urban Decay for this, but if you're on a budget the Makeup Revolution is fab for the price).

And that, ladies and gents, is how I make my face look like a beacon, and when I step outside, you can see my face glow from the distance, lighting the way. No, I joke but thats how I 'strobe', basically highlight the shit out of your face, skip contour, and give it a new name. This look probably isn't for everyone, but personally I love it, I love to glow so I'm happy to layer that highlight but, if you're wanting a subtle glow, skip as many of those steps that's necessary for your face. If you've got suuuuper oily skin, I wouldn't recommend it, as you might end up looking like your face is just pure oil, but you know, you do you.

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed, and I'll post again soon

Katie xo

LINKS:

(The BECCA palette I used, that's in the pictures was Limited Edition, and I can't find it on the Internet. However if you want to search Ebay and pay insane costs, then search for the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champage Glow palette. I didn't swatch Blushed Copper, which is the darker shade in the palette, because I don't use that colour. I believe it also was limited edition, so I don't know whether or not it will still be available. If you'd like to see a swatch of it, I'm sure if you Google BECCA Blushed Copper, it will come up!)

BECCA Moonstone - http://www.sephora.com/shimmering-skin-perfector-pressed-P381176?skuId=1538099

BECCA Champagne Pop - http://www.sephora.com/shimmering-skin-perfector-pressed-P381176?skuId=1538099

BECCA Pearl - http://www.sephora.com/shimmering-skin-perfector-pressed-P381176?skuId=1538099

Sleek Barekissed Illuminator - http://www.sleekmakeup.com/barekissed-illuminator-monaco

Benefit Highlighters - https://www.benefitcosmetics.co.uk/product/category/makeup/highlighter

MUA Iridecsent Gold - http://www.muastore.co.uk/undress-your-skin-highlighting-powder-1

bottom of page