top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

My favourite contouring products

I basically contour every single day, or at least every time I wear makeup. I will often cream contour first (blend), then ‘bake’ my contour (which is basically applying a load of translucent powder under your contour to make it stand out, and look more crisp). I will then set my contour will powder contour. This post is going to be discussing my favourite contour products, both high end and ‘drugstore’. Just a quick note, I do actually have the ABH cream contour kit on its way, I ordered mine from BeautyBay.com and I will definitely do a review/demo – review on the blog, demo on my Instagram (@makeupwithkatie101).

But this post is about products I currently use and what I’d recommend. For cream contour, I absolutely adore the BECCA Lowlight Sculpting Perfector. I apply with a small foundation brush (I can’t remember what it’s called, but it’s from Real Techniques and it came in the Core Collection, I hate it for foundation but applying the cream contour it’s fabulous). I then blend it out with a sponge; I use the Real Technique sponge, the orange one with the flat edge (I will link everything I’m talking about at the end of this post). This product is so versatile, it can be so subtle, and just look like a soft contour, or you can properly carve out your features and makes it really strong, depending on how much you use. I then bake my contour, using the RCMA No Colour Powder, my favourite translucent powder. I also bake my under eyes, after I highlight/conceal (Urban Decay Naked Weightless Concealer in the shade Fair Neutral). While I’m waiting for my bake, to well, bake, I usually do my eyebrows, and then set my contour with a powder contour. Depending on what look I’m going for depends on what product I use. If I want a subtle contour, I tend to go for Benefit Hoola, which is labelled as a bronzer, which I use for contour, as it’s a very cool toned bronzer. If I’m after a strong contour, which to be honest, is what I want more than a subtle contour. I use the Kat Von D Shade & Light palette; I use the lightest shade, which is called Sombre, and the darkest shade (the tiniest amount, just at the deepest part of my contour, the part next to my ear, blended out a lot – as obviously this isn’t a colour that suits me, being that I’m super pale).

Benefit Hoola

A great ‘drugstore’ option for Hoola is the Maybelline Master Sculpt in the shade Light/Medium (they also have a Medium/Deep shade, which I’m thinking of buying, and using as eyeshadow as I like the formula of the powders). Sleek Makeup also have a Contour kit in a couple of shades, which are very pigmented, and would be a good alternative for the Kat Von D, the highlight is shimmery in the Sleek, and matte in the Kat Von D. So depending if you want a shimmery or a matte highlight, both options is good.

PRODUCTS MENTIONED:

BECCA COSMETICS LOWLIGHT SCULPTING PERFECTOR:

https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/becca-lowlight-sculpting-perfector.html#c=7-category

BENEFIT HOOLA BRONZER:

https://www.benefitcosmetics.co.uk/product/view/hoola

MAYBELLINE MASTER SCULPT:

http://www.boots.com/en/Maybelline-Master-Sculpt-Contouring-64g_1685065/

RCMA NO COLOUR POWDER:

https://www.love-makeup.co.uk/rcma-colour-powder-p-3187.html

KAT VON D SHADE & LIGHT PALETTE:

http://www.sephora.com/shade-light-contour-palette-P392129?skuId=1654110

SLEEK MAKEUP CONTOUR KIT:

http://www.sleekmakeup.com/makeup/face/contouring/face-contour-kit-medium

(if you are interested in the contour kit, but you’d like a blush too, sleek have a Face Form kit, which has a contour, blush and highlight: http://www.sleekmakeup.com/makeup/face/contouring/face-form-contour-light)

ANASTASIA CREAM CONTOUR KIT:

http://www.beautybay.com/cosmetics/anastasiabeverlyhills/proseriescontourkitfair/

They do have the other shades, Light, Medium, Deep so different skin tones needn’t worry.


bottom of page