top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick Review


Okay, so I’m going to start this review by telling you all how excited I was about ordering these, and how I nearly died of excitement when I got them through the mail. I ordered mine from Beautylish (which by the way is the most amazing packaging of a product I’ve ordered online ever. I put a picture on my Instagram; I will link it at the end of this post). I got five of the colours, which is probably a bit crazy considering I’d never tried the formula. However, I did play makeup detective and read about a million reviews online, watched so many swatch videos, and then used those to make the decision of which ones I wanted. I ordered Mistletoe (which was limited edition for Holiday 2015), Blue Velvet, Unicorn Blood, Celebrity Skin and Abused.

First things first, the packaging is gorgeous. I’ll be honest I much prefer the Holiday packaging than the permanent, but I do still love the permanent packaging. The white and the rose gold of the Holiday packaging give me life, and I wish they all looked like that. The permanent packaging is a hot pink with rose gold, which is still gorgeous. This might be a weird thing to enjoy about a product, but I like the fact they are short and stubby, rather longer and thin like the Kat Von D for example. I find the Jeffree Star fit better into makeup bags, as they’re shorter. That’s probably not an aspect of packaging that many people appreciate but I really enjoy it. One of my favourite things about this product is the applicator, it’s not like a normal doe foot applicator, and it’s curved, and hugs the lips. I don’t know how, but I find it so much easier to get a crisp lip line without the use of lip brush when it comes to this applicator than other applicators. The LA Splash liquid lipsticks for example, they have a longer and stiffer applicator, which I find, makes it quite difficult to get a neat line. If only all liquid lippies had the Jeffree Star applicator.

One thing to note about the formula is that it can be kind of thin and patchy, but as this formula is so easy to build and doesn’t do that weird balling up thing that some liquid lipsticks do when you reapply, I don’t mind working with the formula. One thing Jeffree recommended himself in one of his lip swatch videos is to shake up the product before use. I do this with every liquid lipstick, not just the Jeffree Star ones, and since starting doing this I find the application much easier on most formulas. I find this lipstick lasts all day on me, but I generally use a lip liner as a base with most lipsticks (liquid or not), especially when using a bright colour, as no one wants a patchy bright mouth, it just highlights the patchy-ness. However, even if I don’t use a lip liner, I can get a good 6-8 hours of wear out of this product before I have to top up. I’m the type of girl that always brings my lip colour and a mirror with me anyway, so this isn’t so much of a big deal for me, but if that’s a deal breaker for you, I’d recommend using a lip liner as a base. One trick I love for bolder colours such as blue, green or black is to use waterproof eyeliner as a lip liner – I would not then use this on my eyes, I reserve them for just my lips. A feature that isn’t particularly important to me, but is very important to others, this product doesn’t have an offensive smell, which tends to put some people off.

I don’t find the Jeffree Star lippies drying, until it gets when they’re starting to wear off, which they then kind of dry up on the lips, but with re-application and a bit of lip balm, I don’t find this an issue. These lippies don’t tend to wear off until I want to take them off anyway, so I’m not hugely bothered about that problem. To take these off I find using micellar water and a cotton pad/cotton bud works just fine.

Micellar water is what I use all over my face to take makeup off, so this is convenient for me.

A big selling point for me, and I’m sure for many other people, is that Jeffree’s line is completely cruelty-free, and the liquid lipsticks are vegan (I got this information off the Jeffree Star Cosmetics website, on the FAQ page) I believe that you can use them on your eyes as liner. I watched a video with Jeffree and NikkieTutorials, where Nikkie used a couple of them on her eyes. If you don’t feel comfortable using them on your eyes, don’t do it! But for me, the fact you can multi use this product, and it’s completely safe to do so, is a big selling point.

I hope you guys enjoyed this review, and I hope you found it useful. If there is any other liquid lipsticks you’d like a more in depth review on please let me know and I will do that.

Here is a link to a video on my YouTube channel where I live swatch the liquid lipsticks I own

xox


bottom of page