top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

TheBalm Nude 'Tude Palette, reviewed.

Nude ‘Tude is a neutral palette (shock horror, I bought another neutral palette, because I need another one of those. If you didn’t note the sarcasm, leave), with a mostly warm undertone, with the exception of the shade Selfish, which in a cool toned taupe shade. The palette retails for £30, and you can purchase this from Debenhams and Feel Unique - ASOS also stocks TheBalm, but I couldn’t find this palette on there.

Before I get into the shades, which ones I like, the shades I don’t, and for what reasons, I want to do a quick palette breakdown. If you read my last blog post (Naked vs. Chocolate), you’ll know when I reviewed and compared those palettes; I took into account the amount of shades, weight total of the product in the palette and the price. That’s what I’m going to be doing for this palette; I think it gives a clearer view on whether a palette is ‘worth it’. Of course, this is my personal opinion, and what makes a palette ‘worth it’ is totally subjective to individuals. The Nude ‘Tude has 12 shades, with a total of 11.08g of product, meaning that each shade has 1.09g of product in each little pan – if you read the last post, you’ll know this is more in each pan than in both Naked palettes, and Chocolate Bar (Although the Chocolate Bar does have the two larger shades which have much more product in). Like I mentioned earlier, this palette retails for £30, which means each shade in here is worth £2.50, which again, is cheaper than the Urban Decay Nakeds. Each of those pans are worth £3.20, jacking the price up a little of the entire palette, which costs £38.50 (The Chocolate Bar does actually have more shades, so can’t really use this as a fair comparison).

In terms of quality, the shadows can be a little hit or miss. For example, the shade Selfish looks delicious in the pan, and I want to smother it all over my lids, and just everywhere, but when trying to apply this colour to my lids with a brush I was so disappointed. This shade blended away, even though I was simply patting the shade on my lid. I patted, as I was wary of fallout, as even to swatch these shades they are incredibly powdery. On the complete opposite end of the spectrum though, I picked up the shade Sexy on a synthetic crease brush, and applied this into my outer corner to add some depth to my somewhat bland eye look. Wow, this colour though. It’s, well, sexy. It’s a deep reddish brown shade, which to someone else might sound a little boring, but this is my shade girl, MY SHADE. I love it. It’s a little less red, and darker than Bitten from Makeup Geek, which I thought it would be really similar to, however they both give that kind of sultry, deep, sexy vibe to the eyes. Side note, I think Bitten from Makeup Geek heavily in the crease, and Sexy on the lid and smudged all up in the lash line would make such a bomb look. I also really love the shade Sassy as an intense inner corner highlight; it’s a bright white shimmery highlight. If you’re not really into that then you won’t like the shade, but I dig it so I’m all about the stark highlight. I also really like the shades Stand-Offish and Stubborn, but I’ve only swatched these, and haven’t tried applying them with a brush, so we’ll see when I go in with my brush. I’m going to try again with the Selfish shade, with a natural hair brush, and try and see if that makes a difference, because this shade is so gorgeous.

If you read my last blog post, you’ll know what my ‘ideal palette’ is, I like to have a shade one or two shades lighter than my skin to double up as a highlight, and a shade to set my base, a transition shade, for example Peach Smoothie from Makeup Geek, and a couple of medium to dark brown shades to use in the crease, and finally a shimmery shade for the lid.

I will say though, I do love this palette, there are some shades that shine out to me as potential favourite shades, and I can work with the miss shades, and get them to work for me. The mattes seem to have a better texture in this palette, and that’s okay because who doesn’t want good quality mattes that will blend seamlessly? If you’re a makeup lover, and you just love to collect, I’d highly recommend this, as it has some solid shades in it that I really love. If you’re looking for a solid neutral palette which all the shades are consistent in quality, I’d recommend the Too Faced Chocolate Bars.

I’m excited about the shades in the Nude Dude palette too! Some of the shades look very similar to the Nude Tude, from pictures I’ve seen online, but it does have some shades that are unique enough for me to spend £30 on it. Have you tried either the Nude Tude or Nude Dude – what are your thoughts on them? Let me know!


bottom of page