top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Naked vs. Chocolate - Which to buy?


Both Urban Decay and Too Faced have found a range within their lines, which have caught a lot of attention, and therefore generated a lot of money for the company. Of course I’m talking about Urban Decay Naked, and Too Faced Chocolate. Each brand has branched out within these ranges, for example, within Naked, there is the original palettes, the Naked Basics palettes, Naked Illuminators, Naked foundations and concealers, Naked lip-gloss and liners and more. I’m here to compare the palettes (Naked 1, 2, 3 – I don’t currently own Smokey, vs. Chocolate Bar, and Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar – I don’t currently own Bon Bons), not the whole line, as I don’t own everything out of each range so it would be unfair to compare products I don’t own, plus, each company have produced different products.

Firstly, I’ll explain my ideal palette, of course this is my personal opinion, and if you have different ideas on a palette then that’s totally okay. I like to have everything I need in one palette, whilst I don’t mind bringing in other palettes, I would rather just grab for one, convenience and all. So, I need a shade one or two shades lighter than my skin that can double up as a brow bone highlight, and an all over lid shade that I can use to set my primer so colours blend easier. I like a lighter transition colour, that again, makes darker colours blend in together, and a couple of darker matte shades to go in my crease. I like having shimmery/metallic shades to go on the lid. So, comparing all the shades in each palette, in my opinion, the Too Faced palettes are the winner for me. They have that light shade, some transition/crease shades, and shimmery shades. If you read my ‘YouTube Made Me Buy It’ post, you’ll already know how I feel about the Naked palettes, I don’t dislike them, I just find them boring, and never reach for them. That isn’t me slating Urban Decay, I love Urban Decay, I have a couple of other palettes which I love from them, and I’m not arguing that the Naked palettes can produce some stunning looks, but for me personally, I don’t reach for them, as I’m hugely drawn to them.

Okay, so for those who like in depth breakdowns of the palettes, and what each contain, lets go:

TOP TO BOTTOM :

NAKED 3

NAKED 2

NAKED 1

TOP TO BOTTOM:

NAKED 1

NAKED 2

NAKED 3

Naked 1, 2, and 3: Each of the Naked palettes contain 12 eyeshadows, and the palette costs £38.50, which effectively means each shade costs around £3.20. Each shade has 1.3g of product; multiply this by 12 (which is the amount of shades in the palette) equals 15.6g of product.

TOP TO BOTTOM :

ORGINAL CHOCOLATE BAR

SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE BAR

TOP TO BOTTOM:

SAME AS ABOVE

Too Faced Chocolate Bar & Semi Sweet: The Chocolate palettes cost £39, with a total of 16 shades. 2 of the shadows weigh 2.2g each (totalling 4.4g); these are the larger highlight shades in the palette, and 14 shades weighing 0.95g each, totalling 13.3g. So add these totals together and the palette has a total of 17.7g, meaning there is 2.1g more of product, with the palette only costing 50p more than the Nakeds, with 16 shades rather than 12. In my opinion, this makes the Too Faced palettes worth the price, more shadows and more product. Also, as an added bonus, these palettes smell like chocolate, who wouldn’t want that?

Okay, now for a breakdown of what I think about each palette (this post is gonna be a long one I’m afraid.)

For the person who likes cooler toned shadows, I’d recommend the Naked 2, because both the Chocolate Bars are either very warm, apart from 2 or 3 cooler toned shades. As far as cool toned palettes from Too Faced, I love the Boudoir Eyes palette, 9 shades costing £27, lower price tag, less shadows.

If you have the typical neutral palettes (TheBalm make a nice one, Nude Tude, Maybelline have The Nudes), and you’re looking to experiment with some colour, yet still neutral (Does that make sense? To a makeup lover? Yes. To anyone else? No), try the Naked 3, which has some lovely rosy toned shades, a neutral take on colour, yet something a little different than browns and gold’s. If you still want something like this, but still want some traditional neutrals, then try the Too Faced Chocolate Bars, each of them has traditional neutrals but some ‘pops’ of colour, including a light baby pink, a purple, and a couple of burgundy’s in the original, and a blue and a glittery baby pink that comes off a lot more than a glitter – both of these palettes introduce colour that are easy, but are still traditionally neutral.

If you’re curious about my preferences, my personal favourites out of these palettes are the Too Faced, both the original and Semi-Sweet. I like the Semi-Sweet for the mattes, and the original for the shimmery/metallic shades.

Thank you for reading guys; what’s your opinions on these palettes? Let me know, I’d love to hear about it!


bottom of page