top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

How to prep your lips for liquid lippies..

I am an avid liquid lipstick wearer, I think they’re he best thing to happen to makeup since contour. My collection of them is ever growing, and I have bold colours, to neutral and everything in between.

If you wear liquid lippies, you will know they an be so, so drying, which it makes it super important to properly prep your lips, as the long lasting, super matte lipstick formula can have a tendency to cling to flaky patches.

Step one is to exfoliate, to rid your lips of nasty dry patches. Some people are a fan of using a toothbrush to exfoliate, personally I find this too harsh on my lips. My favourite way, and what I would recommend is a sugar scrub. My current one I’m using is from Lush and its called Santa’s. That one is limited edition, but its okay because they have incredible flavoured ones all year round – I love bubble-gum. Scrub, scrub, scrub away at your lips, making them smooth, so the liquid lipstick doesn’t cling to those flaky parts we all get.

Next step is to use a super intensely moisturising lip balm; I adore the Elizabeth Arden 8 HR Lip Protectant (the one in the little tin – don’t even know if they still make this as haven’t seen it in a while). A cheaper option that I like is the Nivea Lip Butter, these are amazing and it preforms just as well as the Elizabeth Arden, but you use whatever lip balm works for you. A tip for maximum moisturisation (is that a word? I feel like I made it up) I would recommend putting this on before you start your makeup routine, to allow the product to sink in. When it comes to doing your lipstick, remove the excess balm, so your lipstick doesn’t slip and slide around. I then use less moisturising balm with a slightly more matte finish that will just act as a thin barrier between your lips and the drying product. I like the EOS balms for this, on their own I don’t like them as they’re not very moisturising but under liquid lippies they work just fine.

Then apply your liquid lippie, whichever one it may be, and if you’d like an extra layer of moisture if you have super dry lips then take a tiny amount of whichever lip balm – I use the EOS to avoid ruining the matte finish of my lippie.

Just as an extra I thought id add which liquid lipsticks I like that aren’t as drying as some others. The Gerard Hydra Mattes, Stila Stay All Day & the Jeffree Star lippies are all amazing formulas; I’d highly recommend all three.

© 2023 by Closet Confidential. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page