top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

MAC Retro Matte Liquid LipColours


If you follow my Instagram (which you totally should if you don't already), you'll know I'm the biggest lipstick junkie, I absolutely love lipsticks. I'm drowning in lipsticks, some I haven't even got to try yet. My favourite is liquid lipsticks (I'm talking about the liquid-to-matte non transfer ones by the way, not those weird ass 'matte gloss' formulas, what even are they? I hate them), I love the longevity, I love the finish, I just love everything about them. I have some formulas I love (for example, the Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipsticks and the Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks) and some I don’t like so much, for various reasons (the MUA Luxe Velvet Lacquers). Today, we’ll be discussing the new MAC Retro Matte Liquid Lipsticks, which are a recent release from MAC. I’d like to throw a quick apology in here, as I did promise this blog post earlier, however I had only tried one colour once, and I wasn’t happy at first, I explain about that later, and I was writing a crappy review, however, I’ve come to realise I do like them, and I just need to work with them, so this is going up a little late, as I wanted to test longevity etc, before I wrote this review. I ordered these as soon as I got the email to say these had been released, because I was so damned excited, I just couldn’t wait. I ordered 2 colours, because as lovely as the colours looked, I couldn’t justify getting more than 2, as these suckers are £21, each! Which is absolutely crazy in my opinion. In my opinion, there are formulas out there, which are just as good, if not better, that get the job done, and they don’t cost £21. I wanted to get formulas from 2 different ends of the colour spectrum, to get an idea of the formula, as sometimes formulas can vary from the bright colours, to the more nude colours, and this one does, I’ll get into that later.

First, let’s discuss the packaging, which I’ll be honest, I hate. It just looks so tacky. The top is the same as their lipsticks, with a clear tube so you can see the colour inside, and a label on the bottom with the name. As you can see from the labels on the pictures, I purchased the shades Feels So Grand (red) and Back in Vogue (peachy nude). I just really, really dislike the packaging, to me, it feels and looks cheap, considering MAC are so late to the liquid lipstick party, I feel like they’d try a little harder with the packaging, rather than skimping and going with their regular lipstick packaging. But, at the end of the day, the outer packaging doesn’t really affect my opinion on the formula on the inside.

An aspect I love about the packaging of these lipsticks is the applicator, it’s almost heart shaped, which tapers into a pointed tip at the end, which makes it so easy to get sharp lines, do your cupids bow, and also fill in the corners of your mouth, without having to bring in a lip brush, which is just extra hassle, and makes re-applying more difficult than it has to be, no one wants to have to bring a lip brush out and about with them. So, to sum up packaging, outer packaging- hate, applicator, love.

On the MAC website, it says this: For those who prefer timeless glamour to all-out flash, matte reigns supreme. M∙A∙C introduces a twist on this classic texture with robustly saturated shades of Retro Matte Liquid Lipcolour. Whichever shade you choose, all promise one thing: a splash of colour in a liquid-suede finish that is impossible to forget.

‘Robustly saturated shades’ I’m assuming means pigmented, which these products definitely are. I usually do 2 layers of most liquid lipsticks, but you don’t have to do that with these, if you’ve properly prepped your lips, these don’t drag or anything on the lips, which some formulas do (they will, if you don’t moisturize or properly prep your lips). Liquid-suede finish is an odd way to describe these, as I’d imagine liquid suede to be a lipstick that doesn’t properly set, and feels soft and cushiony on the lips, anyone else? Probably just me. In my opinion, these are super matte, if you’ve ever tried the regular lipsticks in the Retro Matte formula, you’ll know what I mean.

I first tried Back in Vogue, and thought I didn’t like it. I just want to point out that at this point, I hadn’t used lip balm (check my post on how I prepare my lips for liquid lipsticks) and I hadn’t scrubbed my lips, so they weren’t in great shape, but I just had to try them as soon as possible. When I tried this colour with my lips in bad shape, the colour sank into my lip lines, dried my lips out, and just looked, honestly, it looked awful. I was kinda pissed because you know, I’d spent £42 on 2 of these, and so far, I wasn’t impressed. Have you ever tried Ruby Woo? These lipsticks are Ruby Woo level drying, like, Sahara Desert drying. So, please, please when you wear these, scrub your lips to make sure all the dry skin has gone (or do the toothbrush trick, whatever works for you, just make sure your dry bits are gone), and then apply a thick moisturising lip balm – again, I talked about my favourites for this in my liquid lipstick post. I usually apply my lip balm first, let it sink in and do it’s thing, and then blot off the excess with a tissue, and apply a more ‘matte’ lip balm (just one without a glossy finish), and apply a lip liner, I’ve talked about this before on my Instagram, about how I always use lip line under lipsticks, and then I apply these, and I’m going to be honest, after the prep work, these look absolutely stunning. I don’t know how to explain it, but somehow, these look more matte than regular liquid-to-matte lipsticks, not really sure how to explain it, but you probably will know what I mean, if you’ve tried these. Being so matte means these last all day, and with the lip liner as a base, these last even longer. I actually ate a Burger King (hey, I’m not gonna be one of those Bloggers who pretend they only eat healthy food all the time, becau

se I don’t.. ok glad we sorted that out), and this lasted up through that, so yeah, I’m impressed.

By the way, there is 5ml of product in these tubes, which after doing some investigation over the Internet, seems to be a pretty average amount of product for liquid lipsticks.

Thanks for reading guys! If you have any feedback, comments, or requests, please feel free to message me via email, twitter or Instagram, and I’ll get back to you!


Kommentare


bottom of page